The Via Alpina team



The International Steering Committee (ISC) was founded in June 2000 and comprises national and regional authorities, walking associations and tourism promotion bodies from the eight countries involved in the project.

It is a work group without a legal figure that meets once a year to make key policy decisions.




It is supported by a network of eight National Secretariats, which deal with the actual implementation of the project in each country. The National Secretariats are integrated into public or private structures that are competent in the subject of walking tourism.



The International Commission for the Protection of the Alps CIPRA manages the International Secretariat, after the Grande Traversée des Alpes association had held this position from 2000 to 2013.


    Each country manages its own national secretariat and its actions on its own territory. Austria, Switzerland, Slovenia, Liechtenstein and Monaco currently contribute to the financing of the International Secretariat.



The members of the International Steering Committee


Austrian Alpine Club (OeAV), Land of Salzburg (representative of the 6 Bundesländer involved).

Switzerland: Swiss Hiking Federation, SwissTrails GmbH, IG SchweizMobil; observer: Swiss Alpine Club (SAC/ CAS).

Germany: German Alpine Club (DAV), Bavarian Minister for the Environment, Health and Consumer Protection (bay. StMUGV).

France: Government (Committee for Planning and Economic Development in the Alps / DIACT), Rhône-Alpes Region, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur Region, French Hiking Federation (FFRandonnée), French Federation of Alpine and Mountain Clubs (FFCAM), Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur Regional Tourist Board, Riviera-Côte d’Azur Regional Tourist Board.

Liechtenstein: Government (Office of the Environment), Liechtenstein Tourism; observer: Liechtenstein Alpine Club (LAV).

Italy: Piedmont Region, Lombardy Region, Friuli-Venezia Giulia Region (representatives of the 8 ordinary or autonomous Alpine regions and provinces), Italian Alpine Club (CAI), South Tyrolean Alpine Club (AVS).

Monaco: Monegasque Alpine Club (CAM), Government (Department of International Cooperation), Tourism and Congress Board (DTC).

Slovenia: Hiking & Biking Slovenia, Slovenian Tourist Board (SPIRIT), Ministry for the Environment and Regional Planning; observer: Slovenian Alpine Club (PZS).